Academia del Pueblo School Board of Directors

Guadalupe Sosa Valencia- Chair

Guadalupe Sosa Valencia is a Native Arizonan, born in Tempe and grew up in Queen Creek; where 4 generations of Escalante-Sosa’s have attended grade school. She has a B.A.-Secondary Education from Arizona State University and a J.D. from the University of California, Hastings College of Law, San Francisco, California. She was at the Arizona State Senate, Democratic Staff for 19 years as a Senior Policy Advisor and currently works for St. Vincent de Paul. An ADP board member for three years, Guadalupe has been involved in many organizations throughout the valley.

Sonia Gomez- Secretary

Sonia Gomez joined the Academia Del Pueblo board in 2016 and is a native of Mesa, Arizona. She studied business and media at the Walter Cronkite School at Arizona State University and proceeded to work in consumer and B2B advertising for English and Spanish media outlets. Her passion for the community and higher education started young as she was involved in non-profits geared towards first generation college students like ASU Hispanic Mother-Daughter Program and also the ASU Alumni Foundation to help mentor students and fundraise for the Latino Alumni Association, Los Diablos scholarship fund. In her free time, Sonia enjoys spending time with family, traveling, and watching college and professional football.

Francisca Montoya

Francisca Montoya is a long term resident of the City of Phoenix. She is employed as the Research & Planning Director at Raza Development Fund. A graduate of ASU with a BS degree in Health Policy she has 25 years experience in non-profit management. Francisca currently serves on the Fowler Elementary School Board, the Maricopa County Board of Health, and the City of Phoenix Estrella Village Planning Committee. She is a 2014 graduate of the National Hispanic Corporate Council, Corporate Executive Development Program at Southern Methodist University.

GOVERNING BOARD MEETINGSPer A.R.S. § 38-431.02, notice of meetings for Academia Del Pueblo and any of its committees will be posted on this website. Notices will also be posted in the front office of Academia Del Pueblo, which is open from 7:30 am to 5:30 pm. Such notices will indicate the date, time, and place of the meeting and will include an agen

Charter Proposed Budget

  • FY 2018 Adopted Budget
  • FY 2018 Budget Adoption Hearing Notification
  • FY 2018 budget
  • FY 2016 budget
  • FY 2015 budget